New blog, new business, new pictures, and new passport!

If you’ve visited this web site recently and noticed that I have not updated in a while, I’d like to say a) thank you for sticking with me and b) I’m sorry for being so silent. I assure you it’s not because I’ve been sitting around sipping mojitos and flipping through People magazine! No, indeed, I’ve been a bit busy. To catch you up, here’s what I’m up to these days.

First, I’m writing a frequent devotional blog called Coffee Stains on my Bible.   If you are someone who wants to be engaging with scripture on a regular basis and would benefit from either someone else’s example, model of study, or simply the knowledge that “we’re in this together,” I welcome you to join me over there. I’m inching my way through the book of Mark right now, and I post between one and five posts each week.

Second, I’ve started my own business, Algumwood Consulting, and it’s keeping me very busy! I’m working for several great companies in New York, Los Angeles, Chicagoland, and the Pacific Northwest. Which means…

… I’m traveling a ton. I mean, a ton. Some months, I’m flying every week, or even several times in one week. I’m not complaining, mind you. In fact, this is a direct answer of “yes” to a prayer I used to pray back in my temping days in New York, when I would ask God for a career that allowed me to travel all over the place. I love to travel, even when it completely exhausts me. I love airports, conversations with strangers on planes, all that time to read, and seeing the world.

(And you know I love visiting thrift stores in different cities!)

And tomorrow, I’m heading to India for the first time. I’m very excited to be visiting Bangalore, where I’ll be a keynote speaker at The Sinai Summit, an arts and faith conference sponsored by India Arts Movement. Then I’ll participate in/speak at another conference in Delhi, then two smaller gatherings in Hyderabad, before coming back home. This will be my second stamp in my passport this year (I was in Mexico in April), and I’m so grateful for the opportunity to meet some new friends and learn from them.

So that’s the scoop these days. In case you wondered 🙂

2 thoughts on “New blog, new business, new pictures, and new passport!

Leave a Reply

