Scenes from a Thrift Store: Stacey’s Funky Finds & Furniture (Georgetown/Seattle)

If you follow me on Facebook or Twitter, you may have seen my post about my current thrift store endeavor: furnishing my new office entirely with thrifted/recycled/repurposed items. Its a fun challenge. Today I visited a few area thrift stores specifically in search of office items. Here’s a photo montage from my adventures!

I started at a shop I have driven by many times since moving to Seattle last year, but had never visited: Stacey’s Funky Finds, located at 6169 4TH Ave S. in Georgetown:

The outside is a bit like a roadside fruit stand. But once I went in, I was impressed. What a treasure trove! I found a bunch of great items, but came home only with photos, no purchases—yet. Here are some of the things that caught my eye:

I was admiring the table display of vintage telephones (below) when something moved on the couch next to me and startled me a bit. This little sausage poked his head out just long enough to size me up, before rolling over and going back to sleep. This, of course, put me in a good mood. Any store with a hot dog watching the door is fine by me.

I haven’t had a land line in about eight years, but these vintage phones made me consider getting one again. I can’t even remember the last time I used a phone like this! The closest I’ve come to a land line is the cordless phone at my mom and dad’s house. But I loved these – and the color combination, which is, in fact, the exact color palette I am planning for my office (yellow walls, with red and teal accents).

Stacey has a notable record collection, displayed beautifully for browsing. I don’t have a record player, and I don’t plan to get one, but I have always loved the idea of decorating with records. Some of these albums evoked a strong sense of nostalgia;  I might be revisiting this area of the shop in the future…

Well, the desk is a bit hideous, I admit—but I quite like the organizer that’s sitting on top of this desk. In fact, I believe that my desk is going to be made from a nice-quality wooden filing cabinet we plan to purchase on Craig’s List (tonight, in fact) and a door my husband has kept from a house he remodeled last year. But I’m making a note of this organizer.

I really liked this red shelf piece. I did not buy it, but I’m keeping it in mind for once I have the bigger pieces in place. If I do go with the yellow/red/teal combo, this will be a nice addition. As will…

… this coat rack! At $13, I can’t believe I left the store without it. But I was committed to just making this a scouting trip, so I did not buy it. But I plan to. In fact, I might go back and get it tomorrow. I have to have it. Since I was a kid, I have had this thing for coat racks. I had one in my bedroom as a teenager – it was painted white with green ivy, and I thought it was one of the coolest things I had ever seen. I feel a bit like that about this one. I did not plan to include a coat rack in my office, but hey – it makes perfect sense to me. Plus, its exactly the right shade of red.

Now this, I had to include because it was just so fun. A shopping bag-esque purse made from vintage Glamour magazines? Yes, please. But it was a bit pricey, so I left it be. But you know, if it’s there next time…

A fun handbag display. I love handbags. I have too many of them, in fact, so I didn’t even consider buying any of these. But a nice display of handbags is art, if you ask me.

Now, this chair. This. Chair. It is orange, which has been my theme color for about a decade. My last apartment in NYC was FULL of ORANGE. My WiFi password even has something to do with Orange (you’ll never figure it out, so don’t even try. Just trust me.) But its also comfortable, which is a must. I work at home, spend hours sitting at my desk, and must have a comfortable chair. For the past year, I have NOT had a comfortable chair, so this is a non-negotiable in my new office. That said… it is quite old and worn. Old in a cool vintage way, but also old in a sort of dirty/musty way. So I don’t know. We’ll see.

This last picture has nothing to do with my home office (or does it? Hmmmm…) But my church is in need of a djembe or conga, and here we have one of EACH, for $80 a piece. I tried them both out, and both are in great shape. I might get one of them tomorrow if/when I go back.

So that’s it: my report on my office-furnishings-expedition to Stacey’s Funky Finds and Furniture. I did visit three other shops as well–Value Village, St. Vincent de Paul, and Goodwill, all in Burien–but none yielded such fun finds.

Do you have any fun thrifting adventures to share? I’d love to hear about them. Comment below and tell me one fun thrifting story from your experience!

5 thoughts on “Scenes from a Thrift Store: Stacey’s Funky Finds & Furniture (Georgetown/Seattle)

    • Awe,, thanks Riki…I’m moving the store in a couple of weeks and will forward my new address as soon as I get one. I love ya and look forward to seeing you guys at the new location.

  1. Stacy and her store are amazing ! Hands down she rocks ! She has the most amazing store around ! Seriously, it’s not like any other “second hand store”. If you haven’t been there you need to go see what I mean. Love you Stacy – Chris

Leave a Reply

