Scenes from a Thrift Store: Kilmarnock, Virginia

If you’ve been tracking with this blog or my Facebook page for very long, you may have picked up on the fact that one of my favorite past-times is thrift store shopping. Even if I don’t buy anything, I love a well-organized shop with gently used items for super cheap.

For fun, I thought I would share some of my thrifting adventures here occasionally, under the heading “Scenes from a Thrift Store.” Enjoy!

# # #

1. Isn’t this clever? Very cool creative use of Scrabble pieces to organize books in the Animal Welfare League Thrift Shop on South Main Street in Kilmarnock, VA

2. I love little vases, and I love anything that is cobalt blue. Because I am traveling and my bags are already pretty full, I did not buy this lovely vessel. But I photographed it, because I might like to use this color when I decorate the house my husband and I just bought!

3. This shop is in the Northern Neck of Virginia, and the historical influences here are both Colonial American and nautical. These two wall hangings had that colonial vibe that was everywhere when I lived in Williamsburg, VA, years ago. Brought back some memories:

4. I love glass, and this small cake/dessert saver was so tempting… Made a mental note to keep an eye out for something like this next time I’m thrifting in Seattle!

5. Last, but certainly not least: there is no shortage of kitch in thrift stores, and this particular store had a “lovely” display of kitchy spring/Easter decorations—which would have been my husbands worst nightmare! While it was very tempting to bring these happy little hand-crocheted guys home, I did leave them on the shelf—but not without taking a photo first!

Leave a Reply

